How did I get here?

It’s crazy how things work out.

My senior year of high school, my family took a spring break trip to Great Smoky Mountains National Park in Gatlinburg, TN and we all absolutely loved it. The mountains were just so amazing. We were just blown away by their beauty that we promised we would return for another visit.

Family Vacation 2014

Family Vacation 2014

Fast forward, to my sophomore year of college and I was deciding on where I wanted to spend my summer with CRU doing summer missions. There were SO many amazing places to choose from. I was particularly interested in ministering to people from a different country so a mission abroad sounded appealing to me. However, being my first mission trip, I figured a statewide mission would be a good place to start.

Scrolling through the long list of places, one in particular jumped out to me… “Smoky Mountain Summer Project.” This project was not only located in a beautiful area but the ministry focus of this mission was international students who come from all different parts of the world to spend their summer working in Gatlinburg. It was too good to be true!

That summer in Gatlinburg was one of the best I’ve ever had. I fell in love with the southern culture, the community, the scenery and I loved my summer job. I told myself that someday I’ll be moving back there for good. Who knew that it’d be so soon!

10410534_704613199624844_2235194447308027841_n

After graduating college, the opportunity to come back to the Smokies presented itself and I couldn’t refuse! I had promised myself that someday I’ll go back so why not that time be now? My previous job from my summer in Gatlinburg offered me a full time position that will allow me to utilize my degree and grow as a professional.

My new life begins next Friday (7/17) at midnight when we pack the moving van with all my crap and drive 10 hours down to my new home.

So far, things have been falling into place really smoothly with this move. With that I feel very confident that God is leading me here for something far greater than I can ever anticipate. Whatever that is, I’m excited to see what lays ahead for me and to do the work that He has put me on this Earth to do.

Prayers for a smooth transition is appreciated 🙂

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

