Real Life Begins in 3…2….1…. GO

I made it!

I can officially say I’m a Tennessean now.

My journey here began last Thursday when we packed up a moving van and drove 10ish hours through the night. My parents, Kyle and I left Janesville at 6 p.m. and we arrived at my new home in Sevierville, TN around 8 a.m. Friday morning.

It was 90 degrees, we were all cranky and exhausted but we managed to unload the truck within an hour so we can nap immediately. We all ended up turning in at 7 p.m. that night and had the best night’s sleep.

Saturday morning we got up early, visited the National Park and hiked up to Alum Cave. This was Kyle’s first time in Gatlinburg, TN so I was really excited to show him the beautiful mountains. After our hike, we headed back home, ate and finished up on getting myself settled in. Later that evening we took a break from all the unpacking and visited downtown Gatlinburg to toast the weekend with some moonshine. Our goal was to hit up the 3 moonshine establishments on the Parkway. This mission was easily accomplished 😉 We met a lot of really cool people and shared a lot of laughs.

11700937_10153467477869660_2515094049896631684_n

Sunday, we all relaxed during the day and put the finishing touches on my apartment. We ended the day at Clingman’s Dome to watch the sunset which was the absolute best way to end the weekend.

11700855_10153467478619660_2012329588902054812_n

My parents and Kyle left Monday where I dropped them off at the airport and came home to my empty apartment. Needless to say, it was an emotional night. But I had my first day of work to look forward to!

FullSizeRenderMy first day of work was Tuesday and honestly, it feels so great being back at Mountain Laurel Chalets. I’m doing a lot of training but I’m learning a lot and each day I feel a little more comfortable in my new position. I haven’t even been working a full week yet but I already love it! Every morning I drive to work and I’m so thankful to have this job and I come home and feel so good about where I am right now. However, I must admit that getting up early EVERY DAY is rough! I haven’t consistently woken up before 7 a.m. since high school. The struggle is really real. But I’m lucky that the people at MLC love coffee as much as I do 🙂

Even though, I miss my family like CRAZY. Like I really really really really really miss them and everyday I get tinge of homesickness. But I’ve been getting use to things and I’ve been getting so much help and support from my wonderful co-workers. I am very lucky to be here and excited to see where I go from here.

Jeremiah 29:11

2 responses to “Real Life Begins in 3…2….1…. GO

  1. I am so happy to have you here and share in your wonderful journey. You are doing a great job and I know you will continue to grow. While no substitute for your family, we welcome you as as the newest member of our MLC family and hope we help fill the gap created by your move. No matter where your roads takes you I hope you enjoy the ride!
    Love ya!

    Like

Leave a Reply

