I’m still alive

Ok, when I started this blog, I knew I wouldn’t keep up with it. However, it’s the new year which means new goals and resolutions. So why not add, “keep up with blog” to my list of resolutions this year? Let’s see how long it lasts…

Anyway, I just want everyone know that I’m still alive! The last time I posted anything on here was my 30 before 30 list. Which I decided to tackle a little at a time.

#23. Learn how to work a camera and take a good picture 

For Christmas, I got a nice new camera! I’ve been reading a lot about the basics such as ISO, aperture, and shutter speed. So I’ve been playing and experimenting with that. If you want to see my amateur photos here’s a link to my flickr. I’m learning, so I welcome any criticism and tips for all you real photographers out there.

Speaking of Christmas, spending the holidays in Tennessee, away from my family was difficult. However, Christmas turned out to be the amazing because my awesome parents and brother came down and spent the holiday in the mountains with me!

Christmas was the first time seeing them since July when they  moved me in. My heart was bursting with so much happiness and love during those 5 days! It was so exciting to spend time with my favorite people in a place that we all love dearly. Of course, the first thing we did was go downtown and sample moonshine. Kyle works at Ole Smoky Moonshine in Gatlinburg so obviously we had to go see him in action.

After a night on the parkway we headed home and the next morning we woke up and had brunch at the Pancake Pantry, explored the Aquarium, and spent some more time downtown.  We did a little hiking, explored the Island in Pigeon Forge and enjoyed our time together. It was hard to say goodbye and I miss them so, so much but I’m lucky that I was able to see them and I can’t wait to see them again.

644026_10207549654635343_4015256783248370594_n

My parents also brought Smalls down to live in TN with me! It’s great having him around. Kyle works nights so he keeps me company and it’s like always having a piece of home with me.

Although it’s been hard being so far away from my friends and family, (including cousins, aunts and uncles) I don’t have any regrets on my decision to move here. I know it was the right thing to do and I am so content where my life is at. I’m sure someday down the road I’ll move back to Wisconsin but I know that Tennessee is where I’m suppose to be right now.

 

Leave a Reply

