Hats off to 2016!

Man, what an exhausting year.

Going into 2016 I was very excited because it was my first full year as an adult. I had so many plans and goals of what I wanted to accomplish and to be honest, I didn’t do a great job following through. Remember my 30 before 30 list? Yeah, I haven’t looked at it since I wrote it. However, I am able to cross of 4 (almost 5) things off that list!

#4 Take a class for fun

I took a beginner photography class this year! It was so much fun and I learned so much. This year I’m taking Fundamentals of Digital Photography 2 and Travel and Nature photography. I’m super excited!

#14 Live in a new state for a year 

It’s really hard to believed that I’ve been calling Tennessee my home for over a year! It’s been such an incredible experience. I miss Wisconsin and my family so so much but looking back, I don’t regret the decision to move. During my year here, I’ve been able to really develop into me. Moving away from my friends and family, I had no outside influences on how to fill my time, or what I wore, or ate, etc. Here, I do what I want to do and with that, I’ve discovered a lot about myself. Even little things such as; I like to be in bed before 10, I’ve learned to floss every other day (which is a huge accomplishment because I never used to floss), I like my hair better short, I really love the Harry Potter series (something that really surprised me), I have a ton of button up shirts in my closet (must be my go-to outfit?), I wear my glasses every day, Chicken Teriyaki is my specialty dish and I love Taco Bell. Clearly, these are all little things so, let’s get serious for a moment.

In addition to all these little quirks, I’ve also learned how to show others patience and grace. Because let me tell you, the tourists here will test you…It’s like common sense and courtesy doesn’t exist when people are on vacation. Seriously, every day there would be a moment when I would be upset over somebody else’s action. If I allow myself to get annoyed or frustrated every time a tourist cut me off in traffic, drove 5 miles below the speed limit or was rude to me at work; everyday would be hell. So I started to pray for grace and patience. The prayer turned into something I’d pray daily and eventually those little things didn’t upset me as much. Obviously, I’m human and there are days where I’ll cuss under my breath at someone. But when I slip up, I’m more aware of it now and will try to do better next time.

I’ve also learned how to make friends. I didn’t know anyone here when I moved so as a way to meet people around my age, I started working at Polo and I’ve developed some great friendships through that. My full-time job has also given me a whole new level of confidence. WonderWorks is great because you work with so many different people. In addition, working in sales challenges me to put myself out there and build relationships with people. I never in my life, imagined myself in sales. To be honest, the word “sales” freaks me out and that’s the reason why I took the position. I wanted to force myself out of my comfort zone and what better way to do that than sales?!

#15 Go to a Packers Game

I went to my first Packer Game! I’m sorry to do this but remember that Packers vs. Titans game (that I’m sure every Packer fan tried so hard to forget…sorry to bring it up)? THAT was my first Packer Game. We had really good seats and I was amazed by how many Packer Fans there were. More than half the stadium was filled with them! Way to represent, fans.

Despite the loss, it was still a lot of fun and at the end, we found a Culvers! Chomping on a butterburger, decked out in Packer gear in TENNESSEE was the besttttt.

fdafdsa

Like, just look how Wisconsin this photo is.

#23 Learn how to work a camera and take a photo

I am not a photography pro but I now know how to work my fancy camera and the basics of ISO, Aperture, Shutter Speed and all that jazz. I took a photography class this fall and will be taking another one in a few months! It’s been a lot of fun learning how everything works and what you can do with it. My Christmas gifts were pretty much all camera-related so I’m ready to go more in-depth with this hobby. One of my goals for 2017 is to start a photo-a-week challenge where it forces me to spend some time tinkering with my camera. Since tomorrow kicks off the new year, I’ll probably start it sometime next week. So, watch out for that.

Overall, 2016 has been ok but I have to admit that I’m excited for it to end. Although, I don’t really  have high expectations for 2017…. Anyways, all I know is that I only have 1 New Years Resolution and that’s to live presently, to take each day as it comes and to trust the Lord wholeheartedly.

Happy New Year, Y’all!

Leave a Reply

