Week 1/52: Self Portrait

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

ISO 800 | f/5.0 | 1/50 sec

I took this photo last week, knowing that I was going to begin this challenge.

It was the Monday after Christmas, I had the day off and Kyle had to work. It was the perfect opportunity to set up all my new camera gear and test everything out. Sooo…. I had a photoshoot… with myself. Which I hate to admit because it’s slightly embarrassing, but hey, my cats wanted nothing to do with me and I thought if anything I can get a decent LinkedIn profile pic out of it.

I have a huge window in my bedroom that lets in a lot of natural light. I picked a wall, set up my tripod and snapped away. Although I had a lot of light, I still used my external flash and diffuser that I got for Christmas. Without the flash, I noticed that the far side of my face would sort of get lost in a shadow. So after playing around with it I was able to soften and lighten up the shadows around my face (and learned the functions of my flash).

Overall, I like the way this turned out. The only thing I don’t like is the fact that  it looks like I don’t have a hand. But eh, I’ll do better next time.

img_4612

So here ya go! Week #1 in the books.

Also…all you photography pros, I’m open to critique and tips!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

