2/52 Clouds (of snow!)

 

15979031_10154917281049660_336513675_n

ISO 100 | f/5.6 | 1/320

Yes, #2 was suppose to be of clouds and I did shoot some photos of clouds…however, it snowed quite a bit this weekend which doesn’t happen that much in Tennessee. So I’m changing this week’s cloud photo to snow.

Last weekend, Kyle and I woke up to a fresh blanket of snow. We were sooooo excited!! First thing we did was get our gear on and head outside. We spent our whole afternoon throwing snowballs and rolling around in it like it was the first time ever experiencing a snowfall.

I took my camera out with me to document this wonderful gift and to practice taking photos with snow. It was a little tricky since everything was white, I had to do a lot of adjusting to get the right exposure and to balance everything out. I cranked the ISO to it’s lowest and bumped up the shutter speed (so I can catch some falling snowflakes and get some candid’s of Kyle) and this is what I got!

I really like the composition of this photo. I like how the rail starts at one side of the picture and ends with Kyle. Your eyes are just automatically drawn to him. I like the snow-covered trees in the background adds a nice effect as well. Overall, it turned out pretty decent and I think it all flows nicely.

I had sent this photo to my parents and my dad sent it back to me in black and white which, I actually ended up liking better because everything looks better in black and white, am I right?!

Ha, here’s the original:

15970593_10154917294884660_1479249815_n

I honestly like both photos just as equally. Since Kyle is the one in the photo, I let him choose which one to feature and he chose the black and white one so I went with it.

Sadly, the snow has all melted away and the weather is back in the 60’s….but it was nice to pretend that we were back in Wisconsin for a day…

Week 2: COMPLETED

Again, if you have an Instagram, follow me at alycat_cam (that’s where I’m posting all of these photos)

Until next time!

-Aly

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

