7/52 Eyes

img_4829

This is my cat, Smalls.

He is lazy, fat and only likes men. You can find him sleeping in Kyle’s room, only to emerge to eat and go to the bathroom. He hates cuddling but when he lays on your lap or chest, you feel like the chosen one (it’s very rare).

So initially, I had the idea of photographing my own eyes because they are so damn big. People has always commented on my eyes for as long as I can remember, so I figured I’d use them this week. However, I just couldn’t photographed them in a way that I liked. Initially, I was just going to do a typical “these are my eyes” photos. Here’s what I got…

cropped

Yeah, there’s nothing special about this veiny, brown-eyed photo. So then I tried half-facing it with one eye, looking fierce as F…

touched-up

Still wasn’t really feeling this one either.

I can’t wait to learn how to do Photoshop because I know you can edit eyes to make them pop and look fanfreakingtastic. Which, btw, I just signed up for a Photoshop course starting in March! Superrrr exciting. I’ll probably revisit this eye subject another day.

Anyways, since my eyes weren’t working, I decided to go a different route and use Smalls. His eyes are always popping since he’s completely black. A lot of times when you see him, he looks like a black ball of fur with eyes. His eyes are the only thing you can distinguish from that guy.

Because he’s a literal black blob, my camera had difficulty focusing on him so I had to use my flash to get a decent enough photo. I must say, before I was so against flash. I thought that I can take all photos without it, but it makes such a difference! I’m using it so much more than I thought I would. I’m very thankful that I got one for Christmas.

Overall, I used Smalls’ eyes because his are much more interesting and he’s a lot cuter than I am.

Thanks for reading! Next week is a photo of a childhood memory…not sure what I’m going to do for that but we’ll see!

 

-Aly

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

