8/52 Childhood Memory

img_4893

1/80 | f/5 | ISO 400

I am going to go ahead and warn you that this post is a lot more personal than my previous ones and not going to lie, I cried as I wrote it. I’m sorry, I’m a sap!

You know that question, “if your house was on fire, what items would you grab?” Well during the huge fires back  in November, this block was one of those items.

So I’m going to go ahead and tell you the story about this block and why it’s so special to me and I’m going to tell you exactly how I remember it.

The story goes like this…

When I was very, very young. I must have been like 3 or 4 because it was during the time when Adam and I still went to a babysitter and my dad was still in school. Dad picked me up and I was sitting in the front seat (this is the part of the memory where I’m like, ehh, was I really sitting in the front or did I dream that part up because that seems unsafe. But then again, it was the 90’s soooo). Anyways, we’re on our way home and dad gives me this metal block. He tells me that he made it at school for me and it’s very special. He says that whenever I have any bad dreams, or bad thoughts that all I need to do is hold this block and it will make all of the bad things go away.

During this time my dad was also working 3rd shift. Often, I would wake up in the middle of the night, look out my bedroom window and cry because I missed him. So when he gave me the block, It made things a little easier. I’d wake up, go to the window and tell the block that I missed my dad and it would calm me down and comfort me in the fact that everything was going to be ok. I felt close to my dad when he was away and I felt like it not only protected myself but my dad also.

These memories are from so very long ago when I was very young that it may not have happened EXACTLY how I just explained it because memories become skewed, but that’s how I’ve remembered it my whole life.

I am beyond blessed to have such an amazing dad who never failed to make Adam and I feel loved. I can only pray that my future husband is just as amazing as he is.

-Aly

 

 

Leave a Reply

